

## **Red River Valley Amateur Radio Club**



**Meeting Minutes** 

01/26/2019

### **Opening:**

- 1. The regular meeting of the Red River Valley Amateur Radio Club was called to order at 10:15AM on January 26, 2019 at the Paris City Courtroom, by club President Steven Davoust (N5KCH).
- Present were 22 members: Phillip Beall (W5EBC), Roger Blaine A. Bullock, Jr. (KC0OOX), Kelly Collins (W5KJC), Steven Davoust (N5KCH), Darrell Hancock (KG5PIN), George Haneke (NV7Z), Terry Haneke (KE5FRQ), Jesse Hembree (KI5BNE), Randy Holland (N5DDS), Jeremy Johnson (KE5TGX), Jerry Keisler (WA5KZA), Rick Leonhardt (KF5KXS), Frank Perras (KG5DXT), Sue Perras (KG5DXU), Mike Rice (WB5KWK), Alan Ruehl (KB9EQ), Ronnie Rumsey (KA5LEK), Leo Salas (N5JEP), Thresa Salas (KE5JPM), Johnny Thomas (WB5JT), Larry Thompson (KG5GKY) and Mel Toye (K5KEY). Also present was one guest: Becky Kemp (KI7FCQ).

### Meeting:

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Steven Davoust.
- 2. Opening Prayer was led by Mel Toye.

### Program:

There was no program.

### Old Business:

1. Jerry Keisler brought up that the officer's election in December only elected four officers, but the Constitution calls for election of six. The two unelected positions were Station Trustee and Activities Manager. After a brief discussion the following action was taken:

Phillip Beall nominated Kelly Collins as Station Trustee, seconded by Leo Salas. Members present unanimously approved Kelly Collins as Station Trustee.

Kelly Collins nominated Sue Perras as Activities Manager, seconded by Ronnie Rumsey. Members present unanimously approved Sue Perras as Activities Manager.

2. Secretary's Report: The members were asked if there were any corrections for the draft December meeting minutes which had been emailed to the membership. None were noted.

Motion to accept the December 2018 meeting minutes as presented by George Haneke, Seconded by Leo Salas. The motion passed without objection.



# **Red River Valley Amateur Radio Club**



#### **Meeting Minutes**

Treasurer's Report: Sandi Boyd was not present and the Treasurer's Report was deferred.

### New Business:

- Steven Davoust briefed the group on conversations he, Phillip Beall, Kelly Collins and others have engage in, reference consideration of seeking donation, fund raiser purchase, etc., of facilities and/or tower capabilities not subservient to the wishes of others (i.e. city government, hospital administrators, etc.) and with fewer continuity of operation problems. No action was taken, discussions to continue.
- Field Day Discussion ensued reference different options for Field Day to enhance participation. Things such as location security, air conditioned options even if just for rest, improved bathroom options, enhanced exposure to encourage local interest and recruitment. No action was taken, discussions to continue.
- ARRL affiliated club Leo Salas reminded the group that for RRVARC to maintain its ARRL affiliate designation at least 50% of the club membership must be ARRL members. A club submission reference these numbers must be made annually to ARRL. The members present were asked to please annotate the attendance sheet if they were an ARRL member.

### If you are an ARRL member please send an email to Phillip Beall (<u>phillipbeall@beallz.net</u>) so we are able to update the membership records to accurately reflect this information.

- 4. Website Update Leo Salas gave a brief update on his progress with the website.
- SKYWARN #1 Leo Salas reminded the group of SKYWARN Spotter Training at Paris High School (6:00-8:00 PM), Tuesday, January 29, 2019. Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Services (RACES) requires this training annually.
- 6. SKYWARN #2 Mike Rice reminded the group that SKYWARN basic and advanced training classes is conducted annually in Garland, typically in late February.

Announced dates and locations for SKYWARN training can be located here.

- Texas SB43 Johnny Thomas briefed the group that Senator Judith Zaffirini [D] has introduced a bill to restrict electronic communications while driving. The group was encouraged to contact your senator to strongly urge an exemption for amateur radio operators who are licensed by the Federal Communications Commission.
- 8. Drawing Mike Rice won \$28 in the drawing and returned it to the club.

#### **Closing:**

Motion to adjourn by George Haneke, seconded by Leo Salas; motion passed without objection.



## **Red River Valley Amateur Radio Club**

**Meeting Minutes** 



### **Ongoing Meeting Minutes Distribution:**

Darrell and Kristy Hancock – Offered to help any new hams or people with new gear if they wished it. Please email (Darrell – <u>kg5pin@yahoo.com</u> or Kristy – <u>kg5sim@yahoo.com</u>) or call (cell 903.401.2712).

If anyone with a keen eye notices any mistakes in the list attached at the end, including in the order of arrangement, please email (<u>phillipbeall@beallz.net</u>) and let me know. Thanks - Phillip



# Red River Valley Amateur Radio Club



Meeting Minutes

# WB5RDD Member

Call Sign List

AF5WO	Thomas	Н.	Sorensen	KG5WLA	Norman	S.	Hasse
K5KEY	Melvin	(Mel)	Тоуе	KG5YWN	Cheri	E.	Wilson
KA5LEK	Ronnie	D.	Rumsey	KG5YWO	Vicki	L.	Ross
KB5TZN	Dale	L.	Loughmiller	KG5YWQ	Deborah		Thomas
KB5WID	Greg	Α.	Collins	KG5YWR	Magean	W.	Pretre
KB9EQ	Alan	D.	Ruehl	KG5YWS	Anna		Bennett
КВ9UCC	Norman (Norm)	S.	Haase	KG5YWT	John		Bennett
ксооох	Roger Blaine	Α.	Bullock, Jr.	KG5YXQ	Xander	М.	Wilson
КС5КОН	Т.	(Wayne)	Moore	KI5ANE	Parrish	J.	Parks
KC5NAV	George	К.	Cullum, Jr.	KI5AYJ	Timothy	G.	Smith
KD0VGO	John	R.	Cash	КІБАҮК	Kevin	D.	Moreland
KD5RWY	John	E.	Bonnette	KI5AYL	Norm	L.	Smith, Jr.
<b>KE5FRQ</b>	Terry	E.	Haneke	KI5AYM	Liza	J.	Smith
KE5JPM	Thresa	J.	Salas	KI5BAK	Joshua	А.	Smith
<b>KE5TGX</b>	Jeremy	Allan	Johnson	KI5BNE	Jesse		Hembree
KF5HKI	Jeffrey	S.	Johnson	KI5BNF	Alison	J.	Plumey Diaz
KF5IRU	Laura	В.	Quinn	KI5DX	Richard		Lenoir
KF5KXS	Rick		Leonhardt	KJ4WPY	Bryan	C.	Morales
KF5PNJ	Henry	J.	Blackmon	NOCSW	Chris		Wilson
KF5PVV	Lonnie		Boyd			Randall	
KF5PVW	Sandra (Sandi)	F.	Boyd	N5DDS	James	(Randy)	Holland
KG5DXT	Frank	L.	Perras	N5GL	George	H. (II)	Leonberger
KG5DXU	Marian	(Sue)	Perras	N5JEP	Leo	E.	Salas
KG5FCQ	Donald	R.	Neisler	N5KCH	Harry	(Steven)	Davoust
KG5GLZ	Lawrence	Α.	Lull	NV7Z	George	F.	Haneke
KG5LRU	Joshua	Gregory	Imhoff	W5EBC	Phillip	S.	Beall
KG5PIN	Darrell	G.	Hancock	W5KJC	Kelly	John	Collins
KG5SIG	Garry	W.	Whitaker	W5WON	Kathy		Beall
KG5SIH	Rhonda	L.	Griffith	W8LAT	Larry	A.	Thompson
KG5SII	Troy	К.	Murphy	W9LEO	Leo	J.	Deckelmann Sr.
KG5SIJ	Jason	W.	Achord	WA5KZA	Jerry	E.	Keisler
KG5SIK	Bobby	Jake	Green	WA5QEC	Jim	Ed	Clark
KG5SIM	Kristy		Hancock	WB5JT	Johnny	M.	Thomas
KG5UEI	Andrew (Drew)		McGill	WB5KWK	Mike	R.	Rice
KG5VK	Steven	Lott	Smith	WD5FGW	Patricia	L. (Pat)	Keisler